TDP Project Journal : Peer Review session feedback and reflection…

Wooo! I love my class mates! One of the great things about the APP for me is the peer review and support aspect of the course both in the blogging and in the class discussion.
TBH without this element I would have come unstuck on more than one occasion. In this respect I feel I should particularly name check Liz Dodsworth here – she’s been a fantastic help as a sounding board for ideas and a general meter stick for what I should be getting up too (partly because she’s been so on it getting everything done) so nice one LIz 🙂
Great class today with helpful feedback and discussion plus some inspiring presentations on video making and editing. I particularly enjoyed Ed Webb-Ingal’s Brazilian voodoo (maybe it was hypnosis not voodoo but hey…) confidence building techniques for people who are camera shy as I have been hearing about his classes in his blogs but today I got to see them first hand 🙂
As I outlined in my last post I hadn’t really refined my thinking down to one idea so I took my three ‘possibles’ in to present to the group. Feedback was positive and the main thing I took away (I guess) was that any of these ideas was a viable contender, which is good as I can go ahead with my favorite (the online landscaping of UAL). However there were provisos…
It’s important that I am very clear in defining the action research, I don’t want to have any grey / vagueness that would detract from the exersise. The problem needs to be clear and the intervention needs to be clear too.
I need to think about how I’m going to get feedback. Questionnaires can have leading questions which colour the answers of respondents. I need to get my questions right.
I also need to do some leg work in terms of contacting organisations at the university whose domains I might be mapping. This is relevant both in terms of clarifying the online resources they provide and potential negotiating their involvement in my deployment strategy.
David Barnett also suggested I look at his Digital literacy’s guide and the Tokoyo underground map of the internet as good examples of graphic re mapping.

Lets review the individual feedback the group gave :

Liz Dodsworth – Image resolution explanation (resource)

  1. Aimed at improving the foundation of knowledge students have with the expectation the knock on effect would resonate through their subsequent work. Important to take on concepts before learning rules!
  2. She sent a questionnaire round to tutors to corroborate her ideas / findings nad t get feedback on her prototype
  3. Multimedia was cited as an effective way to help people engage with the concept – more senses engaged = more pathways to the brain!
  4. The question was raised again – How do you really question understanding?
  5. Question – where to put this? (OER – process arts? In classromms?)
  6. Liz could go on to apply this same method to other threshold concepts…

Kyrian – Resource to aid in the supervision of dissertations (Fine art / art history)

  1. Creating a map to assist in understanding a starting point
  2. Visual / theoretical / cultural – meta

Rachel Lifter – Will providing a theoretical ‘toolbox’ make cultural studies essay writing easier? (A glossary of phraseology)

  1. Engages with threshold concepts (Meyer and Land 2003)
  2. Jargon buster for crits
  3. Suggested question – not “did you find it useful?” but “Where did you use this?”

Lampros Faslis (Currently in Hong Kong Design institute – made a rather nice vid for us)

  1. His assertion is there is not enough support for students developing a portfolio. 
  2. The portfolio needs to be more appropriate for an international / local market
  3. He wants to bring in industry support.
  4. Introduction of quality specifications
  5. Provide student feedback with a rapid online response.
  6. We thought this task needed streamlining  – the scope was a bit broad to analyse….

David Barnett – introduced the idea of some sort of ‘game’ based system to overcome some pedagogical sticking points…

  1. Crit roulette
  2. Making a computer out of people who play the individual parts
  3. A group all starting with the same clips doing a ‘free edit’ to demonstrate the editorial control over output.
  4. One problem is too many students for computers…
  5. Using cue cards to physically demonstrate how images might be arranged on a cue card…
  6. Game could punish instead of reward….
  7. Freeconomics – be careful bribing people
  8. Behaviour architecture – David T. Jones
  9. No control group is necessary as we are evaluating direct impacts on peoples behaviour…
Leave a Reply

